Dreams That Board Imaginary Planes

For a brief moment I thought I saw you
And wondered who it was you were thinking about.
Your back turned, but your face tilted to the side
As if you were waiting just one more second.
Hoping that whatever answer you were looking for
Would catch up to your steps, before boarding another flight,
To some destination far from where their imagination
Could see you go. Through a sea of faces,
There’s a look that you give that’s meaningless.
But when your eyes rest upon the face in the photo
Between your fingers there’s a dream
That has yet to be thrown into a pile of the lost.
Waiting for you to turn around is a girl
Who’s been waiting her whole life to see the light
From a hope you never reveal as part of your truth.
And there I watch the piece of me who’s still that girl
Making wishes on 11:11 because once that was the moment
That our gaze met on opposite sides of the world.
And for a moment, with my back turned towards my gate
I thought of running through the terminal,
And boarding a flight to where my imagination
Has always led my dreams to go.

1 Comment

Filed under Dawn's World, poetry, prose, Writing

One response to “Dreams That Board Imaginary Planes

  1. I felt this. Kind of sad…

    Like

Leave a comment